The Council has eight allotment sites situated at Brunswick Street, Cemetery, Hodge House, Lee Bank, Lomeshaye, Manor Street, Swinden and Spring Bank.

The eight sites provide a total of 201 allotments and demand is high. There is presently a waiting list.

The allotments are self managed through the auspices of the Nelson & District Smallholders, Allotment Gardens & Horticultural Society and by way of a Committee at each site.

The Officers of the District Society are:

Gus Mann, Chairman, Iris Wheeler, Treasurer and Janet Laskey, Secretary.


Application forms for allotments can be obtained by telephone, text or e mail from The Town Clerk on 077 35 35 07 35 or

or Download a Form here.

Allotments Application Form